Skip to content

To Cry At The Opera

October 8, 2010

At the same time that my wife and I began attending church around 10 years ago in New York City, we also started going to the opera (in the nose-bleed seats of New York’s Metropolitan Opera). I didn’t know anything about opera at the time, in much the same way I knew very little about church, Christianity or faith at the time. But in the same way that I really wanted to be a person of faith, I also wanted to be someone who could “get” opera.

In particular, my goal–as I stated frequently at the time, whenever my friends wondered why I was spending so many evenings (and a not insignificant amount of money) on the opera–was: I wanted to cry at the opera. I wanted to be so overcome, so engaged with the outlandish stories and music and costumes that I’d be overwhelmed emotionally and spiritually and just cry. (It took a couple of years and many hours of listening and attending the opera, but it happened eventually–during a production of  Puccini’s “Madama Butterfly.”)

All that is a way of explaining why I just have to post this video. It was taken last April when the cast members of the Opera Company of Philadelphia’s production of Verdi’s “La Traviata” infiltrated a large Philadelphia market-place on a Saturday afternoon and performed La Traviata’s famed market-place number, “Brindisi.” It probably won’t make you cry. But I bet it will make you smile.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michael Adams permalink
    October 11, 2010 2:22 pm

    That was great! Yes, opera has to be experienced live, because it is just so over the top in every aspect. :-)

Leave a Reply

