Skip to content

“I am grounded, I am humble, I am one with everything”

September 27, 2010

Kate Munkittrick posted a comment earlier today in which she transcribed some of the lyrics to the pop-song, “I Like Giants,” by Kimya Dawson, because–as Kate wrote–“The words really relate to the discussion we had [last Thursday evening during our “God of Dirt” adult ed discussion] about how we experience our connection to God through nature.”

Here’s a goofy home-made video of the song, followed by Kate’s partial transcription:

When I go for a drive I like to pull off to the side
Of the road and run and jump into the ocean in my clothes
I am smaller than a poppyseed inside a great big bowl
And the ocean is a giant that can swallow me whole

So I swim for all salvation and I swim to save my soul
But my soul is just a whisper trapped inside a tornado
So I flip to my back and I float and I sing
I am grounded, I am humbled, I am one with everything.
I am grounded, I am humbled, I am one with everything.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

