Skip to content

More “God of Dirt” pics

September 22, 2010

Part 1 of our Adult Ed Hour series, “God of Dirt”–in which we focus on the language of God in nature–will repeat tomorrow evening, Thursday, Sep. 23 at 6 pm. And then on Sunday, Sep. 26 at 9 am, we’ll move on to Part 2, when the focus will be on how we might attend to God in nature in a prayerful way.

What am I talking about when I say “the language of God in nature”? Or “how we might attend to God in nature in a prayerful way”?

Well, here’s the first four verses of Psalm 19 to explain what I’m talking about:

The heavens are telling the glory of God;
and the firmament proclaims his handiwork.
Day to day pours forth speech,
and night to night declares knowledge.
There is no speech, nor are there words;
their voice is not heard;
yet their voice goes out through all the earth,
and their words to the end of the world.

And here are some pictures of beautiful and exotic mushrooms. (Click the link for many more.) During last Sunday’s discussion, someone mentioned how scientists have recently discovered a sort of neural network by which mushrooms are connected through the dirt–a kind of god-like presence literally in the dirt.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael Adams permalink
    September 22, 2010 8:19 pm

    Speaking of mushrooms (or, specifically, fungi), here’s an interesting article:

    http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=strange-but-true-largest-organism-is-fungus

  2. KateM permalink
    September 27, 2010 10:38 am

    After Thursday night’s discussion, I was listening to the song “I Like Giants” by Kimya Dawson (if you’ve seen Juno, you’ve heard her). The words really relate to the discussion we had about how we experience our connection to God through nature. Here’s a bit:

    When I go for a drive I like to pull off to the side
    Of the road and run and jump into the ocean in my clothes
    I am smaller than a poppyseed inside a great big bowl
    And the ocean is a giant that can swallow me whole

    So I swim for all salvation and I swim to save my soul
    But my soul is just a whisper trapped inside a tornado
    So I flip to my back and I float and I sing
    I am grounded, I am humbled, I am one with everything.
    I am grounded, I am humbled, I am one with everything.

Leave a Reply

