Skip to content

Christmas With A Capital ‘C’? yeesh…

September 21, 2010

A new movie is (maybe) coming to a theater near you that addresses something we’ve all been waiting for a feature film to take on: The War On Christmas. And it’s starring Daniel Baldwin (the other Baldwin–no, not that other Baldwin, the other other Baldwin) plus another guy I vaguely remembered from early ’80s TV, but whom I now know–thanks to the Internet Movie Data Base–was a regular on Happy Days, The Love Boat and Dynasty.

Seriously: who is going to pay $10 to see this?

It reminds me of what my friend wrote about his confusion over why anyone would take such extreme offense at the desecration of something sacred. As my friend put it, “I think a belief system that is predicated on feeling deeply offended by symbolic offenses is truly craven.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Murray permalink
    September 21, 2010 9:49 am

    Having watched the clip, should we mark you down as being on the side of those who would remove Christmas from the public square and of changing banners reading “Merry Christmas” to ones saying “Seasons Greetings”?

  2. jamiemcelroy permalink*
    September 21, 2010 1:49 pm

    Absolutely. Sign me up. Mark me down.

    I don’t really care that much one way or another. But I’m certainly not bothered by the way our courts interpret our constitution’s guarantee of freedom of/from religion.

  3. Murray permalink
    September 21, 2010 2:16 pm

    What is ‘freedom from religion’ and where does it come from?

    Seems contradistinct from free exercise of relgion.

    If one party has the right of free exercise and the other party has ‘freedom from religion’ which party’s right is going to win out and how is that decided?

  4. C.A. Child permalink
    September 22, 2010 10:41 am

    Craven” to
    me–and my dictionary–means “cowardly.” People offended by attacks on symbols
    don’t seem “cowardly” to me–but perhaps over sensitive. But then attacks on
    symbols are meant to offend personally, so some do take them personally. I think
    Xmas with a capital X: I don’t believe “craven” is an apt word in the quote cited for individuals who react strongly to offenses against symbols. I’m not sure what word is
    apt. But in that symbols do hit us in our gut–both positively and
    negatively–it’s difficult to write off their negative power to demean or
    “dis.” Becoming offended, angrily so, seems more a mark of insecurity or even
    some fear, so maybe this is where “craven” comes in. I know some Christians
    hate the spelling of Christmas with an X. Knowing that, if I always spell it
    that way, what does that mean to them? For me, it’s a shortcut. To them, it’s
    something more. I dunno. It’s an interesting psychological question. Reminds me
    of the old kids’ saying, “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will
    never hurt me.” Not always true, but it was a good defense. Interesting issues
    you have identified.

  5. Murray permalink
    September 22, 2010 10:58 am

    C.A. Child – interesting handle.

Leave a Reply

