Skip to content

Adult Ed Update

August 18, 2010

If you’re curious, please check out our Adult Formation page. We’ve updated our listing of what we’ll be offering this fall. And in particular, we want to emphasize that all are welcome to join us for any and all of these programs. In particular, we hope everyone knows that we are structuring these programs such they will appeal to those who really want to roll up their sleeves and study, as well as those who’d simply like to pop by the Cathedral once in a while for a stimulating conversation about Christianity, faith, morality, prayer and religion in general.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy Terwilliger permalink
    August 21, 2010 4:41 pm

    I am a novice at blogging. I’m not sure this is the appropriate place for my response to the question you asked me last Sunday, but I’m willing to step out into a “privilidged zone of possibility” and give it a shot.

    I was thinking about your question—how can we encourage more participation in adult formation classes. This is what came to mind. When I was at St. Raphael’s on Snell Isle, I attended a weekend retreat, Christ Renews His Parish. Participants spent Friday and Saturday nights in the parish hall and then celebrated the Eucharist with their families on Sunday. The retreat was scripture and liturgy based. Parish members who had attended previous retreats shared their human weakness, frailty, vulnerability and personal experiences of God. I can’t remember exactly what I did as a participant, but do remember being deeply moved, bonding with retreat directors and participants and leaving with a radically changed perspective about God and my personal spiritual journey. The really neat thing was that there were many follow up meetings and an opportunity to plan and direct another retreat to be held at a future date. The experience left me hungry for direction on my spiritual journey.

    Carol Cooke is still at St. Raphael’s and is still helping plan and direct Christ Renews His Parish retreats. I would be happy to call her and ask if she could meet with you to explain the retreat program in detail.

    God bless you and your family.

    Judy Terwilliger

  2. jamiemcelroy permalink*
    August 21, 2010 4:49 pm

    Judy–You described so well what I think all Christian formation programs should be about. As you put it, “Parish members… shared their human weakness, frailty, vulnerability and personal experiences of God. I… remember being deeply moved, bonding with retreat directors and participants and leaving with a radically changed perspective about God and my personal spiritual journey.”

    That is exactly what I hope all those who partake of our Adult Formation programs can and will experience. So check out the schedule of events here:

    https://cathedralcrosstown.wordpress.com/adult-formation-classes/

    and join us!

    – Jamie

Leave a Reply

