Skip to content

Additions to the Gospels of Terrence and Clint

August 13, 2010

I admitted a couple of days ago that I’m sort of a nut about movies. Well, I’ve recently read of a couple of upcoming movies that have got me pretty excited. Neither will be released until the end of 2010 and there aren’t even any trailers for them yet. But I cannot wait.

First there will be a new Clint Eastwood movie, called “Hereafter,” starring Matt Damon, which should come out at the end of October. The plot summary over at comingsoon.net says “Hereafter” “tells the story of three people who are touched by death in different ways. …on a path in search of the truth, their lives will intersect, forever changed by what they believe might–or must–exist in the hereafter.”

I’ve appreciated Eastwood’s handling of death and dying in many of his other movies–including “Million Dollar Baby,” “Unforgiven,” “Gran Torino,” and “Letters From Iwo Jima”–so I’m betting I’ll get something out of this one as well.

And then, sometime in November, a new Terrence Malick movie will come out, entitled “Tree of Life” (starring Brad Pitt and Sean Penn). The plot summary of “Tree of Life” is hard to decipher, but my understanding is that it tells the story of a young man struggling to come of age and make sense of how his life fits into the grand history of the cosmos.

Since I love all of Malick’s movies (all four of them), I trust it will be as ambitious and subtle and mind-bending as the rest. I’m particularly fond of “The Thin Red Line,” which I see as a beautiful meditation on the constant presence of God and God’s goodness even amidst the horrors of war. In that movie, Malick manages to convey that even when we find ourselves thrust into the worst of life’s evils, God’s open hand of love and peace and joy is always extended to us. I think this preview from when it came out back in 1998 captures what I’m talking about:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

